Skip to content

Lessons Learned on my bike

by on September 16, 2011

I used to be healthy. Yup–there was a time when I considered myself an athlete, but after years of slacking, eating chips and feeling sorry for myself I now have to face facts. In the battle of couch vs. courage, I often failed to get up and go outside–I lost my courage and the couch won.

I’m trying to change. I have vowed to compete in the 5th annual Southern Cross race. Yes–I’m pretty sure I am going to die, but at least now I have a goal.

It’s been fun zipping around town on my hand-me-down road bike, but I thought it was time for a longer training ride. Did I mention I have no idea what I’m doing?  All I know is that if I don’t want to embarrass myself during the race, I’d better start spending more time on a bike.

So I decided to cycle to St. Joseph…and here are the lessons I learned:

#1  IGNORANCE IS BLISS

Had I known that the village of St. Joe is over 14KMs from my house, I never would have left the safety of my couch. This is where is pays to be clueless. Fellow Athena, Krystle, suggested we should do a ride to St. Joe, and I just assumed that she wouldn’t suggest anything life-threatening. Wrong.

#2  SUPPORT CAN BE BEAUTIFUL

As he was leaving for work, I told my husband that I was planning on riding to St. Joe.  He said, “that’s nice dear, I’ll see you at lunch.”

#3  A BODY IN MOTION TENDS TO STAY IN MOTION

Once I get on my bike, all is well. The sun is shining and the roads are flat and empty and I just keep going. I’m kinda shocked that it takes me an hour to reach St. Joe, but I was just taking it easy and enjoying the day. Trust me–the road sign says St. Joseph–I made it!

#4   ALWAYS RIDE WITH A BUDDY

I admit–I’m a bit of a loner. I require vast amounts of personal downtime, and you can definitely get that on a bike. But I also have absolutely no sense of direction. So, even though I checked which way the wind was blowing before I left home, it never occurred to me that I would be headed directly into the wind when I turned South for the return trip.

I’m sure that if another Athena had been with me, she would have kept me from making the small, but significant errors that turned this ride from pleasure into pain. What errors?  No tools, no granola bars, and nothing to protect me from the cougar.

#5 THAT WHICH DOES NOT KILL US MAKES US STRONGER

Nothing terrible happened–I didn’t see any signs of the cougar, but I did ride past wind turbines towering over some very pretty cornfields. Of course, my butt was aching by the time I limped back to Altona, but I made it,  and I’m going out again. Sure, you can come along–just get off the couch and go get your bike.

 

 


 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Cindy Hiebert permalink

    Love it! I would love to come next time!

  2. David Sawatzky permalink

    Sweet work Sandra! And don’t worry about Southern Cross…vomiting doesn’t actually hurt.

  3. Cheryl Koop permalink

    Nicely done Sandra!!! Looking forward to Sunday’s ride. Another potential ride could be parts of the southern cross course. Johnny gave we a brief tour yesterday!

  4. Have I mentioned how awesome you are? Keep up the good work Sandra. JS

Comments are closed.

