Skip to content

I don’t know how she does it

by on October 28, 2011

These ladies are not dressed to compete in cyclocross, but I bet they were trailblazers–back in the day.  I’m looking into the history of women in cycling. I read an article about the great Eddy Merckx and I thought, “where are the great women of cycling?”I came across  info about Annie Londonderry, and British pioneers including Eileen Gray and the phenomenal Beryl Burton , but that just led to more questions.  I guess what I’m really trying to figure out is why cycling tends to mean racing.

Not so long ago, a real trouble-maker–let’s call her Anita–posed a challenging question. Anita, clearly exhilarated by doing well at her first-ever cyclocross race in Altona, asked if I was going to race again. I believe her exact words were, “Yeah, like…next fall? With a citizen license, maybe?”

No, Anita–I will not be entering any more cyclocross races. I do not enjoy racing. Not because I tried it and failed, but because I tried it and realized that this is not what I want to do with my bike.  I’d be much more interested in Cycling Around the World. No worries–I like watching cyclocross–so I’m ready to cheer hard for you next season.

Cheryl placed 3rd among the women during the “C” race at CrossTastic. If you haven’t seen the video and photos at the ABES blog, you’re missing out.  Sweet Cheryl will be back on her bike again this Sunday and she’ll probably be racing in costume. Why? Check out Halloween at the Camp.

Those of us who are in Altona this Sunday will meet at Cheryl’s place at 3 p.m. (31 2nd Street S.E.) That’s right–looks like we’ve made a permanent switch to riding on Sunday afternoons–do you think access to Grumpy’s had anything to do with this decision?

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Anita permalink

    Ha Ha Ha! Well, now will all of Athena follow your piper tune to roam the world on two wheels?Or will I have peers to face the challenges of barriers, mud, sand, and hills? Cindy…Julia? (Sorry, I don’t know the rest of you fine Athenas).
    Actually, I’m not sure racing is my thing either, but I’m hoping to buy a cross bike just in case.
    And, Sandra, you don’t need to be racing cross to have me cheer you on– if you blog about riding your bike, (okay, and actually ride your bike) I’m there :)

    • Athena Bike Club permalink

      I shouldn’t say that I won’t race again–I didn’t enjoy coffee the first time I tried it, but I like it now. I just don’t want to commit myself. If I say yes to you Anita, then you and I will have formed a pact–don’t know if you’ve noticed, but we take our pacts very seriously here in Altona.

  2. Happy riding!!! Looking forward to joining you guys in a couple of weeks (Last cross race Nov 6th) I’m thinking the Sunday afternoon rides will be great especially the post ride refreshments!
    CK

Comments are closed.

