Skip to content

Camping vs. Slacking

by on June 25, 2012

These fine females are all going camping. The little ones will get a ride in the car, with their dad, after swimming lessons. The women are about to ride their bikes to St. Malo Provincial Park–about 90kms east of Altona.

It would be easy to say, “Ninety kilometres? I can’t do that–please pass the nachos.”

It’s important to remember that all of these women worked their way up to this trip. First,  you hop on your bike and ride around town. Then you head south on the Trans Canada Trail and you get used to cycling to Gretna, or you take the mile roads to  Rosetown. Soon, you’re riding to Letellier for breakfast, then Morris–just for the fun of it and–BAM!  You’re cycling to St. Malo.

Yes, I know–I haven’t even made it to Gretna yet–but I’m on the verge of a breakthrough. This will be the summer that I stop slacking and start cycling longer distances. Not because I feel the pressure, but because I actually like riding my road bike. Letellier here I come!

Women’s Weekly Ride: Come out for a spin this Tuesday (June 26th) and find out if the Fantastic Four actually made it all the way to St. Malo. Meet at HQ at 8 p.m.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Johnny Sawatsky permalink

    Looking forward to the ride tomorrow! See you there!
    Cheryl

  2. Cindy permalink

    We made it! And actually, as we approached St Joseph, Joanne said that was the farthest she had ever ridden her bike! Woohoo!

    • Athena Bike Club permalink

      I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again–Joanne is a goddess! I guess you all are (even though you’re wearing ABES jerseys…we need that logo ASAP!) Thanks for the update Cindy–kinda kills the suspense for tomorrow, but I’ll come out for the ride anyways ;o]

Comments are closed.

