Skip to content

September Long Ride

by on September 4, 2012

Monday AM Lisa and myself planned a ride.  Our route was decided and Letellier it was.  I was eager to ride to HWY 75.
The wind was not a factor as we began, however we were plagued by canines.
We managed to escape and off we went to Letellier.  Unfortunately, no restaurants were opened this long weekend and the only thing Barnay’s allowed us was a place to stretch.

Image

Being troopers, we headed back to the highway and when we reached HWY 421 the wind increased in intensity.  Lisa was kind enough to allow me to draft the majority of the way.  The dogs were again a challenge and tested my strength and speed.  Perhaps the motivation for cyclocross races is a dog about the same size as my frame chasing me down and ready to take a bite from my leg to push me harder and faster.

Image

 

When we reached Altona, we had cycled 63kms.  It was then decided that we should try to make it to the nice solid number of 70km.  My longest ride to date and I am feeling it!
Apparently, now I am ready to cycle to St. Malo
The Gange family then treated my family to a delicious lunch of pancakes, sausage, scrambled eggs, fruit, and coffee.
What a treat!
Thanks for the great ride Lisa

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Julia had a better idea…beebee gun mounted onto one’s bike frame!

  2. Tara permalink

    You guys should buy Spike – it is a small spray bottle – easy to keep handy on your bike – big dog deterrent

Comments are closed.

